Chocolat!

When Big Sista came home, she was holding a dark brown stick in her mouth and she was chewing! 😀 FOOD!!

*pant pant*

I jumped up and down, delighted.

I want! I want too!

Once Big Sista came out of the car, I dashed to meet the chocolat – er, her.

She pulled her biscuit away from me.

Uhhh…

I knew what to do. I sat down.

Big Sista cooed, “Good.”

But she didn’t give me the chocolat so I assumed that Good meant I could take a bite. I jumped up again and she stood back, the biscuit held further up and away. 😦

*Ooo ooo oooo*

I sat down again. If failed once, must try again.

I looked up at the chocolat and then her eyes. I appealed to her understanding..

She said, “Not for you. You cannot eat chocolate.”

Hmm? Cannot? Whyyyyyyyy?

*sniff* So sad, couldn’t eat chocolat…

Life’s so unfair.

When she opened the car door, I smelled more chocolat in the car. I poked my nose and touched the plastic container holding all the chocolat goodies!

Unfortunately, Big Sista caught me and pulled me away from the car and the goodies. Sigh.

Why is Chocolate Lethal?

Chocolate contains theobromine. A naturally occurring stimulant found in the cocoa bean, theobromine increases urination and affects the central nervous system as well as heart muscle. While amounts vary by type of chocolate, it’s the theobromine that is poisonous to dogs.

Dog Owners Digest – Why chocolate poisons dogs and how to treat chocolate dog poisoning

Raisins and grapes are also a no-no for dogs. They can cause acute renal failure in animals. Onions are also a problem. Macadamia nuts are not good for dogs and can cause weakness in the hind legs or a partial paralysis(according to the ASPCA website- poison control section). Dogs also like to get into the garbage, which can contain items listed above but also can contain rotted foods, which your or I would pass up. But to the dog it may smell like a meal. Your dog can be poisoned by bacterial toxins that build up on disposed foods. Keep the garbage lid on.

Mutt Monthly – Dark Chocolate; Dog Danger

Leave a Reply

