Come. Commme. Come!

There’s another new puppy in the neighbourhood. A gray white cutie.

My doggie is barking up to the max whenever that puppy is around.

The good thing is doggie doesn’t bark so much at cats anymore.. maybe whenever she sees a cat and I notice it, I stroke her pretty head. It’s good to see cats without doggie barking.

Today, as I walked her for exercise, she saw a black cat lying at the grass but she didn’t chase it. In fact, she sort of ignored the cat and sniffed the road. Later, when we passed the cat 2nd time, she stared at the cat and the cat stood up erectly, preparing to fight or run. Doggie stared and then barked! She wanted to give a chase but I pulled her back.

And when it was time to go back home, she didn’t want to. To trick her, I ran towards home. For some reason, she loves to run. So she runs whenever I run. But once we reached home, I had to stop to take out the keys. She turned back but couldn’t move far. So she sat down like a stone.

I cooed, “Come..”

No movement.

I walked over to her and then ran back inside home, just 2 steps for me. She ran towards the home too. She was inside, just barely. I pulled the gate close but knowing I had tricked her, she dashed out. Damn! She’s blur but she learn fast – when it’s to her advantage.

I tied the latch onto the gate and took 2 bits of biscuits to her as bait. She sniffed closer but ah, she probably didn’t trust me anymore. She stood her ground and when I pulled the latch, she actually lied down on the floor! Her whole body on the ground!

*hands up*

I carried her body in and she reluctantly stayed inside home while I close the gate. For not getting out again, I rewarded her with a “Good dog” and patted her head.

This is only training a dog. Imagine the work for educating a child. I salute parents and teachers who can inspire children and students yet discipline them.

Leave a Reply

